In optical communications, the part of the infrared spectrum that is used is divided into seven bands based on availability of light sources transmitting/absorbing materials (fibers) and detectors:

BandDescriptorWavelength range

O bandOriginal1260–1360 nm

E bandExtended1360–1460 nm

S bandShort wavelength1460–1530 nm

C bandConventional1530–1565 nm

L bandLong wavelength1565–1625 nm

U bandUltralong wavelength1625–1675 nm

The C-band is the dominant band for long-distance telecommunication networks.

The S and L bands are based on less well established technology, and are not as widely deployed.

Copyright © 2019 IR
Powered by IR